HIGH COMMAND "Beyond The Wall Of Desolation" LP

Sold out
HIGH COMMAND "Beyond The Wall Of Desolation" LP

HIGH COMMAND "Beyond The Wall Of Desolation" LP

LP on 150gram black vinyl with 12x12 insert.

Providence/Worcester friends deliver a solid as hell debut LP, straight up no bullshit thrash metal. Ryan from Fucking Invincible on drums killing it.

“Hacked out of the frozen New England winter, Beyond the Wall of Desolation brings forth a prophecy of a long forgotten aeon steeped in lore and savagery, where valor flowed with the waters and fires burned with sorcery,” says High Command guitarist Ryan McArdle. “Our goal in the creation of this record was to make the perfect fitting soundtrack to a spiked mace coming down on a human skull.”

"There is a very real revival of straight up thrash metal that has been happening the last couple years. Where the door was opened by bands like IRON AGE and POWER TRIP, HIGH COMMAND are smashing it down with their bare hands. This is take no prisoners metal at its very best. If you want fast, brutish riffs, HIGH COMMAND have them. If you want rhythmic chugging to slam your noggin to, HIGH COMMAND have them in droves. If you want an album that will keep you firmly invested from start to finish, whilst making you feel like Conan the Barbarian in the process, there is no need to look further than HIGH COMMAND. For a debut, this is intensely brilliant."

Worcester, Massachusetts-based crossover outfit HIGH COMMAND set out on a warpath to create the heaviest work they have produced yet on their debut full-length and Southern Lord debut, Beyond The Wall Of Desolation.

HIGH COMMAND is, in their own words, “five friends coming together to create the sonic equivalent of a barbarian horde.” The band’s lyrical world, created by vocalist Kevin Fitzgerald, is steeped in lore and savagery, heavily inspired by fantasy-based warfare, and in the band’s words, “boundless quests frozen in the aeons of time and space hacked out of ice and transcribed in lightning. Beyond the thin vail of sanity lies the forgotten age of mysticism and heroes.”

Their studio choice for such proceedings was the legendary Machines With Magnets in Pawtucket, Rhode Island, constantly challenging the boundaries of what is possible in the realm of recorded media. From hearing previous projects recorded there (The Body, Big Brave and Churchburn to name a few) it was apparent to the band that this was a studio that had a focus on the unique and the organic. Seth Manchester, the head engineer, worked tirelessly for the week HIGH COMMAND was there, sculpting a record with a healthy respect to the Old Gods of metal they admire while at the same time, sonically speaking, also carving a realm of its own.

The eight bludgeoning tracks on Beyond The Wall Of Desolation cleave the tender cranium of the listener asunder across their forty-three-minute running time. Bringing forth the undeniable heft in their self-proclaimed New Wave Of Worcester Heavy Metal, the heaviest of armament is advised against the flail.

1. Inexorable Darkness
2. Merciless Steel
3. Impaled Upon the Gates
4. Devoid of Reality
5. The Commander’s Code
6. Vision from the Blade
7. Forged to Kill
8. Beyond the Wall of Desolation